My celebration of the first international day of yoga

Outline of person sitting with hands above headI celebrated the first International day of yoga (as designated by the United Nations) by doing some yogic practices on my own and some in a class.

I started the day with pranayama, meditation and mantra. I choose the  combined ujjayi & golden breath to start with for 5 minutes, followed by 5 minutes of alternate nostril breathing with ratio breathing and retention. After this I did a 6 minute guided meditation for grounding and relaxing (using the free Stop, breathe & think app). I then chanted the  ‘lokah samastah sukhino bhavantu‘ mantra to bring awareness of all living beings in the world, and to extend compassion to them all. Following this I completed my morning practice with an untimed meditation, focusing initially on all my yoga teachers and those who have influenced me on my yoga path, and then settling into whatever state my meditation was this morning.

Later, in the afternoon, I went to the weekly acro yoga class led by friend and fellow yoga teacher Regina. There were 8 there, ranging from the experienced to complete beginners, and myself as an infrequent flyer and baser. Plenty of warm up asana, a mix of therapeutic and more dynamic acro yoga, lots of giggles, and divine vegan cakes to finish.

Do you want to share your IDY experience?

 

Leave a Reply

